GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 359! Christmas Eve and the start of Hanukkah. I’ve always celebrated Christmas. My family has always attended the Candlelight service at our Church on Christmas Eve. When my Mother was alive she insisted we go at 11pm, so it would be Christmas Day when we left Church. After her death I made an Executive decision for the family to attend at 5pm. We’re all older and after all those years of late nights I was ready to lay my head down before 2am and the frenzy of opening gifts at 1am. Tonight was our 6th year of attending 5pm service.

I’ve never celebrated Hanukkah. So I wanted to add it to my list of new things to try. I found simple parts of the Holiday to celebrate. I bought a little Mennorah and today I lit the first candle for the first night of Hanukkah and prayed the prayers. You actually light the middle candle (the shamash or attendant) to light the other candles from. I’m not Jewish and I’m sure there were things I didn’t do correctly, but I learned some new things along the way. Go do something new, sometimes we can open our hearts to other Holidays. Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah or happy whatever it is you celebrate, love one another.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.