Day 346! At Last!! The quest for the Grasshopper has been completed! Unfortunately I do not have a picture of it. The 14 year old had asked to go to a restaurant in Yorkville we had never been to, Wings Etc. So he and I went for lunch, we couldn’t convince the Hubster to come with us. I thought cool, here’s a new restaurant for my list on one new thing!

As I looked over the menu I saw they had ice cream for some of their desserts so I didn’t think it could hurt to ask the waitress if the bartender could make a Grasshopper. He looked it up and talked to me across the bar saying he had the other required ingredients of Creme de menthe and Creme de cacao and he was willing to give it a try for me. Since he wasn’t sure about it or me liking it, he made a small drink in a water glass for me just to try and brought it to me himself. So no pretty glass to take a picture of it, but it was about the drink. I had explained to him, I was trying to do one new thing every day and this had been on my list all year and so far NO ONE had been able to make this for me in a bar or restaurant. I shook his hand and asked his name and thanked him for trying. I took a sip while he watched and with a thumbs up, I old him it was good and the size was just right since I was driving and to charge me what he wanted for this glass.

So special props and a way to go to Enrique over at Wings Etc for helping complete my quest for the elusive Grasshopper. Go do something new, don’t be afraid to ask!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.