Day 338 – Yesterday!

Day 338! Tonight I drove out to The Garfield Farm and Inn Museum, in Campton Hills. I’ve never been there and tonight seemed the perfect time with their Candlelight Reception. I got there just before dusk and checked out the house first. They were cooking on the old fireplace. Love the smell. Takes me back to my Great Grandmother’s old home and the fires burning in the front room. By the time I walked out they were just lighting all the lanterns leading the way to the old Inn. Really felt like a time traveler as I approaced the glowing candlelight in every window, front and back. Real candles burning in the windows and inside on little perches on the walls. The costumed volunteers offered refreshments of flavored bread and warm spice tea. Downstairs I walked into the lovely little pub area with tables set with a pipe and old money. There was a wood burning stove here. I could hear the dulcimer music floating down the stairs. I of course climbed them to stand and listen to the old music. It was a time to relax, having gone by myself and no one rushing me along. My eyes fixiated back and forth between the muscians and a large candle holder reflecting into the mirror behind it. I walked outside and walked out onto the gravel road, imagining riding up in a stage coach from a long dusty ride and being greeted by the candles and knew soon my belly would be full and I would lay my head to rest in the old Inn. Well in my dreams. Go do something new. Traveling backwards somedays beats traveling forward other days

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.