Day 321. Today my one new thing was getting something new given to me. I found out just what the Hubster thinks of my grand idea of doing the Memorial Day Ruck March next year. Usually when I tell him my grand ideas I don’t get a verbal response. I get a look and a slight shake of the head because he generally can’t believe my intentions. This time when I told him I was going to train to hike for 18.64 miles and carry 25lbs of food on my back that would be donated to the Homeless Veterans in Colorado I was once again greeted with, silence and that shake of the head. I don’t think he believed I’d stick with the idea. Flash in the pan so to speak. He should know better by now.

When I told my older son about it, he said he had a Ruck sack and it was in my garage if I could find it I could use it. Which was great, because I sure didn’t want to have to spend money on a heavy duty pack when I needed to buy the food to train with and save money for the trip. Every nickle and dime was going to be needed!

Each month I carry more and more weight, as I will work up to the 25lbs by next May and each month I add more miles. I’ve been at this for a couple months now, with no whining or crying, just doing it. I have been known to cry while training for my half marathon a couple years ago.

I’m up to 5 miles and 13 lbs of food. I’ve even had some amazing friends and family, who have donated enough money for me to buy the food for November AND December. So the Hubster has watched me load that pack, throw on my hiking boots and head out the door a couple times a week.

Today was the day I knew he finally believed in me, that he finally believed I’m going to do this! Today I knew, he knew, this was important to me. I know this because without asking me, he, on his own, found a heavy duty Ruck sack and bought it for me. It arrived in today’s mail. It arrived right before I was going to head out the door for my training. I’m not sure who is more excited about it. He helped me adjust the straps and load the food and I headed out the door with my very own, brand spanking new, heavy duty Ruck sack. Today was one of those days, that my one new thing was a total surprise to me from someone who believes in me. Go do something new. Having someone believe in you, makes you just want to Ruck it!GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.