Day 320! Well today was my lucky day, I had the chance to drive not one, but TWO corvettes! My neighbor Bob owns them and offered (I would never have asked) to let me drive one or both for my list! We took out the ’58 first and you bet, I was nervous to take out his baby! He told me he’s owned it since about 2003.

When I met him in the driveway he said, “I’m going with, no question” I replied, “of course you are, no question!” I wasn’t about to go anywhere on my own with it! While we toodled around the neighborhood, me nervous as heck, he told me, I was the only person he has EVER let drive this car!

Bob’s been our neighbor for more years than I can remember and we’ve both seen cancer tear our lives apart. His wife Kim died shortly after I started getting well from my cancer treatments. We’ve endured much and I take it as a sincere compliment that he allowed me behind the wheel of both of his cars.

He asked me when I wanted to drive the ’08 and I said, “anytime”. I guess today was a good day. Especially since winter will be here before we know it, these cars won’t be taken out in the winter. I was a bit less nevous with the newer car, but still a bit afraid of doing anything “wrong”. I couldn’t get over seeing the speedometer in the front windshield! How cool was that! He told me most of the newer cars have that. I wanted to say, “hey Bob, you’ve seen my old beater car right?” He told me to punch it when we hit the highway, my punching meant only going about 10 miles over the speed limit. But boy she did pick it up quick! Not my car and I was just excited to get to drive these! I didn’t need to be a gear head for a day! Go do something new! You don’t always have to drive in the fast lane!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.