Day 319 – Learned how to Milk Cows, thanks to my cousin Phyllis. Took my Dad and the 14 year old out to the farm late this afternoon to see how a Dairy Farm works. Phyllis took us all around showing us the babies first and then moving on to the big Mamas. They’ve got about 170 head that they milk twice a day. If your a milk drinker and your milk says, Prairie Farms on it, there’s a big chance some of that milk came from my cousin Phyllis’ farm. Once again I learned more than I will ever remember. First time milking a cow, both by hand and machine. I thought it would be difficult to get the milk out by hand, but they were primed and ready to deliver. I even got to bottle feed one calf, just a couple days old, but the 14 year old was more interested in the big old moon instead of filming me and the baby. Go do something new. Milk it for all it’s worth.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.