Day 317 – Yesterday I tried to learn to play taps on my 14 year old’s trombone. I tried for an hour, but I just couldn’t play it very well. I gave it my best shot and kept trying till my lips could take no more. I did this in honor of all our Veterans. I think giving it my best was honor, I tried.

Day 318, today I had coffee with a new friend, Josie and then I drove to my hometown of Plano to see a pair of Ruby Slippers. They are replicas of the pair Dorothy wore in the Wizard of Oz. This pair and I think 4 or 5 more pairs were made by Randy Struthers. If you kept up with the news at all you may have heard the Smithsonian started a Kickstarter campaign to raise money to not only refurbish the real pair, but to also purchase a climate controlled case for them. Randy made these shoes for the Smithsonian and they will be given to the donors who gave at least $7,000. It was pretty cool to see Randy’s work. I was under Randy’s tutelage for a short stint while doing my internship at Plano as I worked to earn my LTA. The shoes are beautiful and I know it took a lot of Randy’s time. Go do something new! There’s no place like home.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.