Day 283! Volunteer at the Finish Line of the Chicago Marathon! It is difficult to put into words what this experience felt like. My sincere thanks to my dear friend Carolyna for helping me make this onto my Freakin’ 365 + 1 List. I could not have done this without her by my side along with another sweet friend Stacia. Wonderful, wonderful day spent Congratulating strangers and placing a medal around their neck. I got hugs and high fives and hand shakes and “thank you!” from many. I saw smiles, laughter, and tears and sheer exhaustion. Some where in the world there are two pictures of me and one stranger before and after I placed his medal around his neck! If you see me out there somewhere tag me in the picture! I don’t know his name or where he was even from, and it was a blast and a half! Go do something new, I don’t always have to run!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.