Day 279, Before my cancer diagnosis 12 years ago I used to love Chicken Fried Steak, Mashed Potatoes and the pepper gravy that comes with it. I never made it myself, but ordered it, if we went to Cracker Barrel. I decided to add making Chicken Fried Steak to my list of new things to do. Sometime ago I even brought home my Mom’s meat mallet. My Dad thinks my Grandpa Emmett may have made it. It was fun to use it knowing that both my Mom and Grandpa were attached to it so to speak.

The gravy turned out excellent, which surprised me. The meat was okay. I guess it all comes down to the recipe. Go do something new, even if its something from your past.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.