Day 269! I’ve thought long and hard about posting this new thing today. But you know what, it’s all a part of life and death. I knew along my year’s journey that possibly not everything I do new would be pleasant things, that’s life. Sometimes we have to do things we really don’t even want to think about, that’s life.

Today for the first time ever I signed my name to my Dad’s Power of Attorney paperwork. Please don’t get in a panic, he’s okay, but none of us knows what the future holds. My Dad was recently diagnosed with Parkinson’s. His Dad had it. His Dad did not have a Power of Attorney and his grown children were told they couldn’t make any “life” decisions for him when he fell into a coma.

My Dad has made it clear, that if somewhere down this road of life we travel he is unable to make his own decisions my brother and I will make these hard decisions for him. None of us wants to think about the possiblility of something like that happening, but our family has had enough “bad stuff” happen, we all like to be a bit “prepared” for life and death.

I give my Dad a lot of credit for taking this step to ensure his decisions about his care are taken care of should he not be in a position to do it for himself. I signed my name to the paper, he will have his signature witnessed and notarized. He’ll tuck the paper away and we will, forget about it. Until such time it may be needed. Go do something new, make the right choice for someone you love.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.