Day 257 – one day late and a comedy of errors!

Day 257 (one day late) Yesterday was a stressful day to get a new thing accomplished. I went to the store after work to look for something called Tandoori Paste. First store was positive they didn’t have it and told me to go to another store. I spent several minutes looking in different spots just in case before leaving to go to the next store. The next store I asked and the clerk ran me all over the store looking for this. Her stress level seemed high, which made me feel bad for her and told her. I thought I knew where to look and she didn’t have to come with me. After another wasted 20 minutes I didn’t find it and came home, only to look online and realize I had all the spices in my cabinet to make it myself! Cool, I made it, only to realize my chicken needed to marinate in this stuff over night!

By the time I realized that it was 5pm. I frantically looked through my pile of recipes looking for something else new I could try, the Hubster had to run an errand and so I asked him to stop at the store to get evaporated milk. I would make Flan, something I’ve never made or that I recall ever eating! So from main dish to dessert! We had eggs and sausage for supper!

Note to self! NEVER use a plastic spoon to stir brown sugar in a pot! I kept looking at the melting sugar and wonder how I could possibly be burning it as I saw strands of black! Half my spoon was gone before I realized what I had done! I threw the mess in the sink and poured cold water over it all, only to leave the stuff hard as a rock stuck in my pan! I started over!

By now I was about ready to throw in the towel, but I kept on. I got the new batch melted and poured it into the cups and set the pan down, Returned to the cups to rotate them to spread the liquefied brown sugar only to find it solid and unmoving! I left it, and moved on to make the top portion and threw it all in the oven in disgust. I found out when I went to take it out it wasn’t done and the temp had been set too low. I cranked it up and cooked it some more. By the time the Hubster, 14 year old and myself tried it, it was after 8pm! I took a couple bites and said, that’s all I can take of that. The boys had tried to be polite but when they saw I didn’t like it, they quit eating theirs as well! I went to bed! Go do something new, today HAS to be a better day!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.