Day 253! Had it in my mind to do one thing and ended up doing something else. Just couldn’t motivate myself to go the distance today. So instead I stuck close to home.

There is a newer shop in town that I drive by alot, and think, “gee I wished I had stopped”. Problem is this place is on a busy highway so one just can’t hit the turn signal, slam on the breaks and make the turn! Today I thought about it soon enough to hit the signal, press lightly on the breaks and make the turn. The little shop is in what looks like an old log cabin. This building had been here as long as I’ve lived here, so I have no idea how old it is or what it was first. It has unfortunately changed hands so many times I can’t remember what all has been in here. I have to wonder how long this current business will last. Anyway I went in and had a look around and left empty handed.

Maybe the name of the shop put me in the mind of my next new thing. Right next door is the old town cemetery. After living here for 31 years I decided it was time to drive up the old road and visit the graves of a bunch of people I don’t know. I love old cemeteries. I can’t believe I’ve never gone up to this one. I recognized a few prominent names. I spent some time picking up the little American flags that had fallen over. It made me feel good I could do that, but sad they had fallen. I couldn’t make up my mind if this was a good place to be buried however. Go do something new! Sometimes its a good time to pay your respects.

P.S. For the first time ever UPS Semi Truck parked on my street and the driver tried to deliver a PALLET of diced apples to me! CRAZY! Had my address on the invoice, but NOPE we did NOT order a PALLET of apples!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.