Day 246. September has just arrived, but October is right around the corner. October with scary Halloween! Let’s get this straight. I do not like scary books. I do not like scary movies. I never liked trick or treating when I was a kid, but I loved the dress up. I DO NOT LIKE SCARY THINGS!

On the rare ocassion I have watched a scary movie I have had nightmares. I’m not kidding. When I was a little kid I would sleep with my hands around my neck because I was afraid someone would come in and strangle me in the middle of the night! Where did that come from?

I remember several years back my older son had us watch “The Ring”. I had nightmares for months, months! These days I limit myself to Alfred Hitchcock’s movie, “The Birds”. That’s as scary as I can take, and I’ve seen it enough times I shouldn’t jump, but I still do! I repeat I don’t do scary!

So now that we are clear on that, for whatever insane reason I decided there were a couple scary things I should do before this list comes to an end. Face my fear! One of those things was to read a Stephen King novel, because I never have read his books!

My daughter in law, Emily and her best friend Christina LOVE Stephen King. They love “The Shining”. They have dressed up for Halloween as characters from the movie. I’ve seen pictures and I had to ask why they dressed that way. I didn’t know about these characters. This summer my son and daugher in law went so far as to stay at the Stanley Hotel, which I’m told, it was used in the movie. The only thing I have ever seen of the movie is a tiny clip of Jack Nicholson looking crazed and hacking at a door yelling, something about Johnny. At least I think that’s what he yells.the few times I’ve seen that image I have to look away!

The book, “The Shining” was published in 1977. I was a teenager, I didn’t like scary books then either. The movie came out in 1980 and nope wouldn’t go see it.

Part of me doing one new thing every day for a year, meant at some point I would have to face some fears. Even if they seem like silly fears to some, they are monumental to me. So today I went to the library and checked out the book “The Shining”. I figured it would be the best place to start with old Mr. King and his scary books.

I do this as a tribute to my daughter in law. I know this book had an important piece in her life. I have started reading it, and so far I haven’t cried out, but I’ve only made it to Chapter 2! So here goes. I don’t know how long it will take me to finish it, if I do finish it. Yes, I must finish it. I’ll let you know what I think if I can pull my head out from under the covers! Go do something new, scare yourself a little, or maybe a lot!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.