Day 244 (One Day Late) OR 8 months of one new thing every day! If I couldn’t do one more thing after today, I would not consider it a failure! It’s remarkable to me I’ve made it this far!

Last night my friend Carolyna drove us into Chicago for a “standby” ticket to get on a boat and watch the fireworks from the lake. It was very windy by the lake as we stood there “blowing in the wind” and unfortunately they reached capacity before we got on. No worries though, I had never been to Maggie Daley Park so we walked over there to check it out. Once we got away from the lake it was a very nice evening for a walk, apparently the mice agreed with us. Carolyna spotted a rather large one and told me to, “just keep walking”.

Maggie Daley is a very nice park right there in the city. I was surprised at how clean it was. I’m glad we went here in the evening, because there wasn’t a lot of kids and we could play! They also have a Cancer Survivor’s Garden. It was more like a garden of plaques. Although they did have beautiful big pedestals filled with plants all around. As a Survivor I would have enjoyed walking through a field of flowers, but I loved the metalwork sort of shelters with a bench to sit on.

After we played we walked back to where we couldn’t get on the boat and sat there to watch the fabulous fireworks! It was a late night for me, way past my bedtime. And I’m up without enough sleep to head out to work this morning, but last night was an enjoyable evening with a good friend! I would do it all over again! You can’t go wrong spending time with someone you like. Go do something new! Change your plans when things don’t work out the way you thought and have someone by your side willing to go with the flow!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.