Day 242. My cousin Anna who is a Vegetarian, suggested I try something called Seitan for my Freakin’ 365 + 1. The main ingredient is Wheat Gluten, along with some seasonings to give this particular one the Chorizo flavor.

Around here I don’t think it is too easy to live a Vegetarian lifestyle. I had to drive, in traffic about 45 minutes to get to a store that sold the Seitan.

I didn’t want to draw a lot of attention to my using this with the Hubster, so I went very simple just adding it to Organic Vegetarian Bean soup. It wasn’t very soupy and really didn’t seem to be enough for the menfolk, so I made some rice to go along with it.

The 14 year old knew what he was eating and said he liked it. The hubster never said a word about how it tasted, which means he wasn’t terribly impressed. He always tells me when he likes things.

For me, it was hard to wrap my head around it after the first bite. That first bite surprised me at the texture, really seemed meatlike. But after that I just wasn’t excited about it. Maybe I should have used it a different way, but there you have it. Go do something new. By the way up until Anna told me about Seitan and Tempeh, I had never heard of them.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.