Day 237. I’m trying to train Jacks. I’ve had 5 dogs. I’ve never trained any of them. My first dog, Fluffy, my Grandpa gave me when I was a kid. She got pregnant pretty quick, and had the pups outside. So she got hit by a car. I wasn’t very old, maybe 8. My parents let me keep one of the pups, I chose Wally. Wally was mostly an outside dog (it was the 60’s) and he didn’t like anyone but me. Then we had Sammy when my two older kids were in grade school. We showed him how to go to the bathroom outside, but he never learned anything else that I remember and if he did it was because someone else showed him how. For a split second I had a little Yorkie named Roxie. Someone was giving her away, but they neglected to tell me they couldn’t house train her. Sadly she went back. Now there’s Jacks and he’s the first dog I have tried to teach anything besides going outside. He’s pretty smart, by the time we got him he would sit pretty good on command, but now I have taught him to stay. I couldn’t believe I got him to do it. We had to work together on that a bit. But he’s getting the hang of it. I’ve tried to train him with treats, but today he “sat”, “stayed” and then came to me when I said, “good boy”, but he turned his nose at the treat. Sure am having fun with this little guy! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.