Day 232, well today, not on purpose, I was a bit of an imposter! Several months ago I had been over to the Senior Center for Laugh Yoga, you may remember. I checked on the age you had to be and it was 55+. SWEET! When I found the Laugh Yoga I also found they did Tai Chi and I put that on the calendar for today to give it a try. I figured it be a bit cooler by now. I was wrong about that.

This time around they had me fill out a sort of registration form, with name, Birthdate, who to call in case of emergency, that sort of stuff. Then there was a question something about if you weren’t 60+ and there were different things to check. I read them over and none of them fit me, so I skipped it and went on and finished the paper and handed it back with my $3.00 fee. The lady was kind enough to walk with me to show me the room, had me sign in and introduced me to the lady leading.

The instructor told me a couple things, being the only newbie and lastly said, “just be willing to laugh at yourself”. I said, “no problem there!” Everyone looked to be a bit older than myself. One of the two men came over and introduced himself to me, followed by some of the ladies. They stepped into place as the instructor turned on the music and stood in front of us, with a mirror in front of her.

I looked at the mirror and there bigger than life itself, or so it felt, was a sign that read, “all programs at the Senior Center are for 60+. Uh oh! I was shaking in my tennies! What the heck? When did they change the age? I know I asked before! Oh man what are they going to do to me? How come they didn’t say anything when I filled out that paper? Should I say something? Didn’t they notice how young I was? I paid my $3.00!

Class began, no one said a word about my age. Toward the end many of them complimented me on my moves and asked, “are you sure you haven’t done this before?” Class was dismissed and I skeedaddled out of there as quick as I could before they kicked me in the pants! Go do something new sometimes being an imposter can be fun but I won’t be back for 4 years!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.