Day 231, I called someone I don’t know! Back before I started the list or right after I started, I can’t remember just when, I had asked my friends and family on Facebook to give me suggestions of new things to do. Claudia had suggested I call someone I didn’t know. I said, Great idea, I’ll call you!

Claudia and I are distant cousins. We’ve never met that we could figure out. I’m pretty sure if we were walking down the street towards each other I wouldn’t recognize her. I don’t remember when we became friends on FB. Maybe after our cousin Sandy died.

I knew she was related to some family I was related to, like my cousin Sandy, but it wasn’t until I went to a family reunion this last summer and talked to cousin Diana (how do you spell Dee Dee?) I realized Claudia and I were related! Turns out her Grandma and my Grandpa were first cousins.

So tonight I gave someone I didn’t know a call and chatted with her about this and that and how we were related and kids and stuff. I’ll admit I was very nervous calling her, but I knew she was waiting for me to call and I had to go through with it. Once we started chatting it was easy! Glad I had the courage to call. Now we “know” each other a little bit. I still won’t recognize her on the street, but we’re family. Go do something new, get to know someone!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.