Day 230, a mixed emotions kind of day of firsts for me and other people I love with all my heart. Today I watched as my last child went off to his first day of High school. It’s been 14 years since I sent his brother off to his first year of High school and 16 since I sent his sister.

Two years after this last child was born I was diagnosed with cancer. This child has really only known his mother as a Survivor, the other two knew me well before that diagnosis.

There was a time back then I thought I might not see this day, but here I sat watching him saunter down the driveway to hop on the bus. His only worry was an empty seat on the bus. A few minutes later I got in my car and drove to my baby brother’s house, he’s 10 years younger than I. We went together for his first round of Chemo, just 10 days short of my 12th anniversary of my cancer diagnosis and there I sat with him, watching him, never expecting to see this day for different reasons than sending the youngest off to High school.

Go do something new, I’m happy I was here to see this day, to watch this last baby go off to high school. I’m not happy about this day watching my baby brother start this journey.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.