Day 224 (Yesterday) Well it was a tough day to come up with something new. Glad I had that Sampler pack of Leinenkugel. If you remember some days back I gave the Watermelon Shandy a try. I wasn’t overly impressed with that. But desperate times call for whatever you can accomplish!

I spent the better part of yesterday in a tiny little day surgery room with my brother, he in a hospital gown stretched out on a gurney watching he olympics and me in a recliner next to him, reading a book.

He was scheduled to have his Power Port (to administer Chemo) placed in his chest. He was scheduled for a 2pm procedure, we arrived at 12:30pm. They finally took him at 3:40pm. Whoever was ahead of him had complications.

The procedure only took about 30 minutes, but once they got him back to the room, his blood pressure was too low to let him go, so another bag of fluids and when that didn’t work they gave him a coke.Yep, that did the trick. Personally, Dr. Turtle (that’s me) thinks they just should have fed the guy! He hadn’t eaten since the night before.

It was 8pm before I got home, My boys had thrown a fozen pizza in the oven and I grabbed a Leinenkugel Ginger Shandy for my new thing and sat down on the couch to listen to the Cubs game on the radio and watch a silent Bears game on the TV with the Hubster.

I could taste a hint of Ginger in the beer, but I was so tired, from just sitting all day I fell asleep after half a can. I woke up a couple hours later and as I tottered off to bed the 14 year old said, “oh, you’re suppose to call Theresa!” Sorry Theresa, I continued tottering, down the hall and fell into bed. Go do something new and try to stay awake while you’re doing it! Oh and who can tell me whether the Cubs won?GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.