Day 220! My first Mini Triathlon and I lived! I sputtered through the swim, drank some water, I felt like I inhaled some while going under the buoy line, but my heart is marked with love for my support team. Thank you to my sisters Carolyna and Cristina and the Hubster who all came out and yelled at me. Nicely, they yelled at me.

One of the Park District leaders, went so far as to take me to the pool ahead of time and walk me through it. She told me that if it wasn’t a struggle I wouldn’t have a sense of accomplishment. Today I faced the fear of bare feet and water and I am a Tri Athlete the same as everyone that did this today. I struggled, but I did it. It wasn’t pretty at some points in the water, but I did it.

I have a bounce in my step for moving forward even when I thought I would drown that first “under the buoy” and every one after it, but I did not let fear win today. Go do something new, even if you don’t look so pretty doing it.

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

One response

  1. Pam says:

    Good for you !!!!