My slippered feet shuffled outside this morning, with cup a’ coffee in my grip. The sun peeked through the trees at me. I raised my cup in cheer and gave a toast and smile. I lifted the hood of my robe over my head to sit in silence and contemplate the hours this day and next. The boys are off fishing, in a little boat, with a friend. I just met him yesterday and so I do not trust him or his boat, which carries my boys. I sat a bit and watched tiny yellow leaves twirl and dance from the their home up high down to the gleaming dewy grass below. This puts me to a mood of melancholia. Fall is whispering in my ear. I close my eyes and see winter hiding behind fall and snickering at me.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.