Day 182. Today I went for a walk/hike with my friend Jill. We went to a park I’ve been to many times over the years, nothing new there or was there?

Jill showed me a path I had never seen! It was a bit of a shocker for me to realize this path was here! Boy, it was pretty too. I wished I had my camera to snap a picture! So an unexpected new thing today with a good friend leading the way, while I was just along for the ride. Thanks for that Jill!

I accomplished a couple other things today as well. For the first time ever I added a tomato to my grilled cheese sandwich. Up until my cancer treatment grilled cheese sandwiches were always my favorite. My mother would shake her head when I would order one in a restaurant for lunch. However after my treatments they became difficult to get down my throat, to dry and sticky. It didn’t stop me from eating them, but I never thought I would truly enjoy one again. Well that was until today when I added that tomato! It gave it just enough juice to slide it down my damaged throat! I think it was the quickest I have been able to eat one since treatment! I say it all the time, it truly is the little things in life that bring me joy!

My last new thing for today, simple enough, something I hadn’t heard of till I went searching the internet for a tuna and pasta salad recipe. I added some dill pickle juice to my salad! Yeah baby that added a pop! Quite a combo of stuff for supper, but what a feeling to enjoy my food. It doesn’t happen terribly often.

Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.