Day 180. Yesterday I realized my turn signals were not working. So today all by myself I pulled out the owner’s manual on my car and was able to locate the fuse box. Never in my life have I known or cared where the car fuse box was located.

My Dad always took car of car stuff when I was a teenage driver, then I married my husband and my Dad still took care of a lot of my car stuff. Well at least for the first couple years of my marriage, because we all know Dad’s know everything,

Once I located the fuse box, I figured out how to remove the panel. From the book I found the fuse for the turn signals and all by myself figured out how to pull it out. Now for some of you maybe you are laughing because you think it is so simple, but this is a girl who hasn’t cared about this sort of stuff. My Dad did try to tell me about some stuff over the years, most of the time it went in one ear and out the other.

Anyway I drove over to the auto parts store and all by myself walked in with fuse in hand and told the woman. Wait, a woman works here? Boy, oh boy! Now I feel intimidated and super dumb.

She walked me straight over to the fuses, which were in view all along and pointed out the one I needed. I made my purchase and headed out to replace it.

This was all new to me, my new thing for the day, brave enough to try and fix something on my car without ANY supervision.

Unfortunately the fuse replacement was not the answer. I drove home without blinkers and now patiently await the Hubster so he can have a look see. Go do something new, even if it doesn’t work, just be proud, you did it on your own.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.