Days 177 & 178! Yesterday the Hubster and the 13 year old were kind enough to go to Indy with me. We had to stay at a sucky Super 8, but had dinner in a very nice NEW place called Scotty’s Brew House! They had some lovely flowers made out of bottle caps and I see another new thing in my future. But the big NEW thing was today. I ran my FIRST Quarter Marathon (6.55 something or other Miles) on a crazy badass trail run!

Today I really took the “Road less traveled” since we had the option of trail or pavement. I chose the trail. We all headed out together enmass and it was shoulder to shoulder, foot to foot, all women runners as we ran the She Power. When we hit the split for the trail I veered off and there was only maybe 4 women I could see ahead of me. The massive herd took the pavement.

There were a few times out there I thought maybe I had gone the wrong way and another section I was sure we (since 3 women caught up to me) were going the wrong way when we had to go through knee deep water, but we “stayed the course”. At times I felt I was the only one out there in the dense muggy hot woods.

There were too many hills and tree trunks to count and three sets of nasty wooden stairs, but as I struggled through a portion on gravel I looked to my left to look at the lake and a little bluebird chipering away flew by and landed in the tree. I found a tiny beautiful bird to lead me on, not just my feather. I smiled probably the biggest smile I have ever smiled on a wicked trail run and continued putting one foot in front of the other! Right before I hit the finish I saw the 13 year old and the Hubster and was overjoyed to see them, when at times on the trail I wondered if they would have to send out a search party for this crazy woman who loves a hard as hell trail instead of the pavement.

I crossed the Finish and was greeted by a smiling face who place my Finisher’s medal over my neck and said, “You did it!” Right behind her was a handsome young man down on one knee with a pretty dark pink rose for me and a smile on his face. I wanted to sit on his knee for a bit, but moved on.

She Thought She Could So She Did! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.