Day 144 Well it should have been simple, but when I’m rushed for time things just get absurd! My new thing was to make and eat Borscht. It’s a Russian dish. Basically boiled beets made into soup. Sounds easy right? Well the Hubster had me running around with him after I got off work and I had somewhere I wanted to be in the early evening and I had to cook supper for the picky guys who do not like beets. I had just been to the store to get the beets, turned around and went back to the store with the Hubster to buy a new coffee pot. Got home started to get the beets out then realized I hadn’t bought the vegetable stock for the Borscht so a THIRD trip to the store. As I started peeling the beets and realized I should have put on some gloves, too late. As I strained the beets I burnt my fingers. When I ran the beets in the blender (because I don’t own a food processor) beet juice leaked out of the bottom so messes to clean before it stained the counter top like my hands. Finally sat down to try this and thought gosh, that so was not worth all that effort. I think I put too much sour cream in it and it tasted like a baked potato instead of beets! I love beets, I love them cooked, I love them cold, I love them pickled. But the Russians can keep their Borscht. Go do something new, but make sure you are not pressed for time!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.