I’ll admit the weather is getting to me. It feels like the end of fall going into a harsh winter, instead of a lovely spring headed into a warm summer. I had other plans for today, thinking it would be a sunny day, so instead of wallowing around in the gloom I went through my many folders of “new” recipes to try and find the perfect match for the gray skies and wet earth.

What I found was Slow-Cooker Cocktails. I had the rum left over from something I tried so long ago I can’t even remember! Guess that tells you what a big drinker I am. I also had on hand the Red Hot cinnamon candies I bought some time ago because they reminded me of my Grandma cooking them with apples when I was a kid. I was going to use them for something or other and never got around to it.

All I needed was the Apple Cider. So off to the store we went. The 13 year old located the cider, saying, “Mom, here it is” as I walked over to him my heart and face immediately smiled. The cider was in a glass bottle (so much plastic in the world today) with leaves decorating the top. It took me back to when I was a kid and spending time with my Great Grandma in Southern Indiana. My “Mamaw” used to keep a glass jug filled with water in her little old fridge. She’d pour me a small glass and it cooled my innards on a hot summer day. I’m sure it wasn’t the same type of jug, but it didn’t matter. I had a warm memory on a very chilly crappy day. Home we came with me cradling that bottle with its memories and we made a silly little video. I’m pretty sure my “Mamaw” would never have mixed her apple cider with rum, but I’m not my great grandmother. Go do something new and remember good times of the past!

 

P.S. The 13 year old got the non-alcoholic version. Just sayin’……

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.