Day 134! It was a sunny day so I took a chance with my new craft today! I’ve saved a few bottle caps over the years and my friend Sandra, had given me a bunch as well. I was always going to do something fantastic with them, but chickened out. This is me after all. I generally need adult supervision when trying to do anything crafty!

A couple months ago I spied a little red wooden tray at Target for $3.00 and thought that might be something simple to use for those bottle caps. I went over to Michaels a few weeks ago and bought some Easy Cast Clear Epoxy, with coupon in hand of course!

Now to look at the picture you might think this was easy. It wasn’t. I had to mix the two bottles with equal parts and it had to be warm, not hot and the Hubster sternly told me to do it outside (he knows me all to well when it comes to crafting). I also had no idea if I had enough Epoxy. Turned out I got lucky on that one, having just enough.

I had to sit still for far too long and keep pushing the caps down with my stick. It was then I realized it might have been a fantastic idea to have glued the caps in place! Plus being outside I really worried about the ants thinking this was a wonderful thing to climb into so I sat for probably a half hour before getting impatient and went to weed the garden bed. By the time I was done there was only one tiny fuzzy seed that wanted to take up residence and when I tried to remove it I realized the stuff was setting up.

I brought it inside to keep all the other errant things from getting in and well I’m happy with my new craft. Maybe I’ll serve myself a beer on it tomorrow after it cures. I have some memories on a few of the caps and others I just like, but I know there are two I will look at, a red hand and a mountain and sun that will take me back to Colorado and my trip last weekend to see my daughter graduate from University! Go do something new!GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.