Today I rode and drove the most expensive vehicle I have ever been in, a TRACTOR!

Thanks to my Uncle Larry for trusting me in the driver’s seat. Well, he did help with lots of the buttons and had to remind me a few times to speed up. Hard to believe there wasn’t a gas pedal that I was aware of. Just a little lever to lightly push to get to a different gear.

It was cool today and I had grabbed a stocking cap and gloves on the way out the door from my house and then remembered tractors these days are all enclosed with climate control.

It really was fun, I could have sat in either one of those two seats, the driver or the passenger all night, but he needed to get the field done and it sure wouldn’t have gotten done with me behind the wheel, and well I did have other things to do. I realized on the way back home I had no idea which pedal was the brake! Good thing he didn’t leave me alone.

It was fun spending a little time with my uncle and chatting as I drove slower than he would have, but he was pretty patient with me. I think he told me he could do about 14 acres an hour. I would have been lucky to finish just one. Not only did I drive a tractor I actually cultivated a little land along the way! Which makes me think in the long run I helped in the preparation of planting a field of corn. The only thing I could think of that would have made this ride any better would have been a brilliant sunset, but it was a cloudy day. Maybe Uncle Larry will let me come back some time to see one of those!

I can only remember once even being on a tractor and it was parked just inside my Grandpa’s barn. Key word, parked. Thanks Uncle Larry for letting me experience something I wished I had a chance to do when I was a kid.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.