Today for the very first time I bought myself a Bike helmet. I grew up in an age where such things were unheard of! 55 years old and now I’m buying one. I have a lovely memory riding my blue Schwinn banana seat bike around and around the block teaching myself to ride it no handed. I would quickly remove my hands and clap, trying to add to the claps to keep my hands on the handlebars longer and longer until I was finally able to ride no handed. That was a huge accomplishment for Miss Clutz.

4th july

I rarely ride my bike these days. Maybe that has something to do with the Hubster hanging it from the Garage ceiling where I can’t reach it without a ladder, and just maybe its in the back corner where for some dumb reason he has piled so much stuff under it I can’t get the ladder close to it. Maybe he put it there because he is worried I might break a hip. Hmmmmm! Husbands!

Well he’s going to have to get it down for me, because my new thing for August 7th will be to try doing a mini triathlon! I’ve got to train for a 6 mile bike ride. My plan is to start training sooner rather than later, unlike my usual method of waiting to do things at the very last minute. With that plan I decided it was high time for this old lady to have a helmet!

I’m never happy about spending money on such things so of course after finding one I headed over to the clearance section to see if by chance……sure enough I found one $5.00 cheaper than the pink one I had in hand! I was of course drawn to this one because of the name on the front and back of it. Yep, I’ve stated on too many occasions on my lack of being a super sporty person, so I might as well broadcast the possibility of a Wipeout. : ) The other thing that sold me on this helmet besides the awesome price, was the fact you can write on it with Magic Erase markers. Ummmm, yes you don’t have to point out to me this is the reason the helmet is called WIPEOUT and NOT for us old ladies that might fall down! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.