I am not ashamed to say, I color my own hair. I go to Walgreens and buy the box under $4.00. I’ve done it for YEARS! I don’t like spending money on my head. It doesn’t matter what I try to do to it, my hair is naturally a mess. Little old ladies love my curls. I just see a rather round bush perched upon my noggin. For years I took a round brush and blow dryer to it trying in vain to make the frizzies go away.

Eleven years ago, I lost a big portion of my hair to cancer treatments. As I remember, looking in the mirror and wondering who that old lady was looking back at me. All of the dark hair I had left fell out. I was left with bald spots and gray splotches here and there. When my hair came back I accepted it was curly and stopped using the blower dryer. I could not accept the gray. After all, this old mama had a 2 year old. I didn’t want to be called his Grandma.

I’d lather on some gel or mousse and be on my way. I did this because standing in the bathroom every morning for a half hour with dryer in hand was NOT how I wanted to spend whatever time I had left. Turns out I’ve had quite a bit of time I didn’t expect. Yay me!

While I threw up the white flag on trying to make the bush on my head anything but the bush on my head I could not accept the gray hair at age 44, so I grabbed that cheap box of Medium brown and never looked back. Well, okay, I have looked back, every time I see the gray returning at the root. A few months back I thought I was ready to accept the gray. The 2 year old was now a 13 year old and heads off to high school in the fall. I mentioned it to my husband. He said, “no, don’t do that, your too young to be gray”.  Underneath this cheap box of color I am, at best guess, 80 percent gray. I obviously wasn’t as ready as I thought I was to go gray. I didn’t argue the point, instead I ran out the door for another box of color.

Dana, is a beautician. She is my daughter’s friend. I’ve known her long before she was a beautician. She knows just how much I hate spending money on my hair, how much I hate making an appointment to get my hair cut. She has been trying for a very long time to get me to let her color my hair. I have always said, “NO”.  Well when you are desperate for new things to do for an entire year it helps you change your mind about what you may have said no to a million times over and well, this list is all about trying. I told her she could do it, we set a date and then I proceeded to change that date not once, but twice. I was out of excuses, today I let Dana color my hair. I don’t think I’ve seen someone so excited about my hair.

I would love to say I went with some crazy coloring scheme, like purple or pink, because that would be ME! My place of employment however, does not allow that sort of self expression. We went with a brilliant shade of yes, brown. So for the first time that I can remember I didn’t drive over to Walgreens and get my less than $4.00 box of color and color my own hair.

It was nice to spend a little time chatting with Dana and a split second of face time with Dana’s new phone to see my daughter standing in a winter storm in Colorado, before service was lost. Seeing the pictures of the back of my head and all the gray underneath my old box color not so much fun. Thanks for the brown Dana. The 13 year old told me I looked young while my head laid in the sink. I say I’m as young as I feel. Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to see the gray, but for now I like brown, purple would be better, but brown will do. Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.