HELL’S BELLS! My first time ever with a Kettle bell in my hands! I was pretty excited about doing this today, yet I couldn’t help but be a little nervous about it. I think we all know how uncoordinated I can be!

I had asked a few days ago of my Facebook friends for something simple and cheap to do this Tuesday. My friend Beth suggested a free lesson from her on using a Kettle bell. FREE not cheap, even better, but not so simple for this old dog. Definitely fun to hang out with Beth for a half hour. Man that time flew by!

I was really worried when she told me I had to take my shoes off, worried to the point I asked her why! She explained, it had to do with balance. It all made sense and I figured I needed all the help I could get in the balance of my body and life, so I didn’t run out the door screaming. It might have something to do with Beth not telling me to take my socks off! Have I mentioned I have a phobia about my feet and anyone seeing them? Beth was great showing me first several times, helping me through it, never yelling and always patient. I can’t remember the name of the first thing she taught me nor the second one either, but perusing through her Facebook page I found a video she posted of someone doing the “Turkish Getup” and I knew that was the second work out. Flat on the ground to start, figuring out how to stand up and then back down again. She had shown me how to do it first and then when I did it she told me each step, as I went. I was also pretty certain, while I was laying on the floor having completed this once, I was going to be a bit sore tomorrow. Believe it or not I’ve always been a little happy about being sore for a good reason! Getting off one’s butt and getting some exercise makes me happy! Thanks Beth!

Another new thing I learned today is Beth actually does post things to Facebook and I haven’t been seeing what is going on in her life and that really bummed me out. I had been surprised when she posted to my page the other day. Because I wasn’t seeing her posts, I simply thought she just wasn’t getting on there anymore. Turns out she was on there all along.  She told me how to fix the problem, yay! I hate not knowing when things are happening in my friend’s lives.

Hell’s Bells Beth! Thanks for the lesson! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.