Today I inadvertently tried 3 new things. The only one on my list was Amaretto Crunch Cake mix. It was one of the three items I won in a Tastefully Simple gift bag, when I attended, for the first time, Luna Fest on Day 58, Feb. 27th.

I baked the cake today and while it was in the oven I made a meal the Hubster and the 13 year old love. Although the kid is not back from his adventure yet. I made Salmon patties, Kraft Mac & Cheese and Green beans. I use to love my Grandma’s salmon patties. She gave me her simple recipe. I used to like Kraft Mac & Cheese. I’ve never much cared for green beans. But my boys love this stuff, so I make it for them.

While I prepared the salmon patties I remembered my trip to IKEA on Day 70 of my one new thing. I found and bought Senap (Mustard) & Dill Sauce and thought I would try it the next time I made salmon patties. I’m always trying to figure out something to add to my Grandma’s simple recipe because the taste always seems to be just a little off. Sometimes I nail it and think okay, I’m on to something! That didn’t taste half bad! The problem is I forget to write down what it was I added and of course my damaged memory can’t remember things like that. Anyway, without thinking I was already trying this Amaretto cake, I pulled the sauce out of the cabinet for the patties.

As I threw the macaroni in the pot I was thinking how much I don’t like Mac & Cheese anymore. Like the salmon patties my taste buds are off on the Mac & Cheese. My tastes seemed to have changed after my cancer treatments. I’ve learned to tolerate some things for the benefit of others. It can be frustrating, but sometimes my brain can’t think of anything I do like, so I make the things everyone else likes, so they don’t starve to death at my hand. I had a left over bag of Fiesta Cheese in the fridge and I thought, “hmmmm, I wonder what that might taste like added to the Mac & cheese?” I figured it couldn’t possibly make it any worse, so I threw it on top of the Mac & Cheese after I had it on my plate.

There you have it, I accidently tried three things instead of one, when I could have filled two more days down the road! Ahh well. I wonder, are you wondering what I thought of these items or have you lost interest in my food dilemmas? I’ll tell you anyway. The Amaretto crunch cake smelled delicious! It did not taste delicious. It tasted as if it had a bit too much flour. The dill and mustard sauce, I sort of liked, but I think it could have been better cooked into the patties. The real winner here for me was adding the Fiesta cheese to the Mac & cheese! Something I can barely eat two forkfuls of actually tasted good for the first time in a very long time.

I’ll admit, none of this stuff is healthy. I know for certain I would have much rather had a salad. But when I was cooking and baking it all, well, I didn’t know I wanted a salad. Welcome to my world! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.