St. Patrick’s Day has long been one of my favorite Holidays. The best reason I can give for this is because it is a happy celebration of people who may or may not be Irish, all coming together (usually in a bar) and celebrating with corned beef and cabbage and green beer. I am not all about the green beer, but I am all about coming together with my family and being “happy”.

While Christmas is beautiful it will never be my favorite holiday, because I spend much of the time in grief of loved ones lost and my heart aches for them. On St. Patrick’s day I am always happy, finding something green to wear and finding a place to gather with some of my family to laugh and maybe have a Guinness, and no green beer! So in honor of my upcoming favorite holiday I took some time today to work on memorizing part of Ireland’s National anthem. It was not easy. Since my cancer treatments 11 years ago my memory is horrible. I can barely remember what happened yesterday let alone memorize something like this. Today I wanted to talk myself out of trying, ready to give up after writing down the words I had to remember. It looked very daunting, but I stuck it out. I had to close my eyes to get it right. So what? I say whatever it takes to get the job done. I may not remember it tomorrow, but today I accomplished a wonderful thing. Go do something new! Happy St. Patrick’s day!

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.