Sweet! Literally sweet! Another item to try I had not put on my list! Never heard of them, but then I don’t live in Germany, so how could I know! Someone brought in store bought German treats to work to share with everyone. There wasn’t a note, so I’m not sure who left them or whether they actually brought them back from Germany. I’d love to know the story. I knew they were for any of us, because we have a “community” bin to put food stuffs in to share.

I tried a chocolate candy, it was not to my liking, liquor candy. Yucky! If I could have read the packaging or noticed the bottle on the package I might have known and would not have tried it to begin with. I’ve had liquor candy before. There were a few packages of a similar looking sort of cookie. The word on the front of the cookie package I took read, Meistersinger. After doing an internet search I believe the cookie is referred to as Lebkuchen.

The top of it reminded me of a glazed donut and the bottom made me think of a Communion wafer. I found it interesting that I came up with this idea while eating it and looking at it as I ate. When I came home and did my Google search on the cookie I found a description that reads, “Lebkuchen dough is usually placed on a thin wafer base called Oblate. This was an idea of the monks, who used unleavened communion wafer ingredients to prevent the dough from sticking”.

Some of the ingredients that might be in it are honey, aniseed, coriander, cloves, ginger, cardamom, allspice, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts and or candied fruit. If I had seen the ingredients I might not have been tempted to try it. I don’t care for aniseed or cloves. I’m glad I couldn’t read it and gave something new a try! It was yummy and something very different than what I am used to in a cookie. Go do something new!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.