Today was my first ever Polar Plunge for Special Olympics! My eternal gratitude and thanks to Judy for suggesting I do this when I asked for ideas for new things to do this year. Something I said I would never do. I gave money to Special Olympics and others who plunged, but I never wanted to go jump (or walk) into a freezing lake.

It was an awesome day with two amazing friends who wanted to not only share this new experience with me, but were both crazy enough to go completely under the water, while I stood amazed and dazed in butt deep water!

I am super glad I had the guts to go in beyond my ankles, and super proud of these amazing women who make me a better person! I Love you Carolyna and Stacia! You are beautiful, you are amazing, you are friends, you are my sisters!

My most sincere thanks to everyone who supported this cause through me with monetary donations. I personally raised over $600 to support the Special Olympic athletes. I am very proud of this accomplishment. I simply wanted to do something new, and the fact I could do a new thing and also be of some help to someone else was truly a gratifying experience.

This past week leading up to the plunge I had the privilege of meeting Dan. He is a Special Olympic Swimmer and works at the library where I work. I told him I heard he was a great swimmer and that I was not! This was about the time I really started to worry about getting in the water. I am a fretter, a worrier. I always have been. I try not to worry about the what if’s because I have worried enough to know, in the end there was usually no good reason to worry as much as I do. I had fun today. It was over in the blink of my eyes as my friends held hands and went under while I happily watched, never letting go of my own hands. It was enough for me. I stayed in the moment and quit worrying, got wet and endured a bit of coldness, but my heart was warmed by the looks on my friends faces as they came up out of the water. It was enough.

I am so proud of the people in my life who lift me up and fill my heart with joy, awe and wonder.  Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.