Today I took the time to learn a little bit about Colorado. My daughter has lived there for a few years. She loves it, it is her home now and I believe it may always be. It does tug at my heart, I miss her, but this is her life and I am happy for her and how far she traveled on her own journey. I can often hear the joy in her voice when I talk to her on the phone and she tells me about her “college life”.

I, along with the “Hubster”, 13 year old and a few other members of the family will travel to Colorado in May and witness “baby girl’s” graduation from University. My daughter is not your typical college student. She is 30 years of age. It has been a long road to this place she has arrived. It hasn’t always been an easy journey for her. I am very proud of her. I love her very much. She has accomplished more than I, her father, or her grandparents before her. She will be the first to graduate from University. She has had serious health issues to deal with along the way, suffering from Colitis, a damnable disease I could not wish upon anyone. Not everyone understands just how debilitating this disease can be, not even me sometimes. I know life has given her a huge slap to the face, but she has persevered.

I keep thinking about that day in May. I imagine her in cap and gown and I know there will be a bigger than life type smile on both of our faces. You’ve come a long way baby girl! Stand tall and dream big, you have accomplished so very much. I love you.

And for the rest of you, just in case you wanted to know something about Colorado.

Here’s a few of the common points!

  • Colorado is Spanish for ruddy or reddish
  • It became the 38th state on Aug. 1, 1876
  • The capital is Denver (you probably already knew that)
  • It’s nickname is the Centennial state, it became a state when the U.S. was 100
  • State motto: Nil Sine Numine (Nothing without the Deity)
  • State Bird: Lark Bunting
  • State Flower: White & Lavender Columbine
  • State Fish: Greenback Cutthroat Trout (Sounds mean doesn’t it?)
  • State Insect: Hairstreak Butterfly
  • State Tree: Blue Spruce
  • State Animal: Rocky Mountain Big Horn Sheet

and in case you want more, more more! Here is the State Song, Where the Columbines Grow.

 

GO DO SOMETHING NEW!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

2 responses

  1. Lili says:

    Congratulations to your Daughter 🙂 and to you!