Woo hoooooo! It is not only Leap Day, but I’m leaping for joy that I have now accomplished 2 months of new things every day! 60 days of one new thing! Yay ME! You’ll have to take my word for it that I did some leaping, there is no video of that silliness, instead my new thing for today was to head out to my hometown library and do some adult coloring! No this did not include pictures of nudes. This is the new craze, coloring for adults to relieve stress. Whoever came up with this idea is a genius. It is fantastic, as long as your not some silly perfectionist. Uhhh, yeah, maybe I’m a bit of a perfectionist on artsy fartsy stuff and maybe that’s why I screw up anything I do that is art related. I let that go tonight and just let my pencil scribble across the page.

I enjoyed the evening. I had an hour and 15 minutes to color my picture. I did not finish the picture.  Maybe I should have chose something a little more simple than a beautiful peacock, but that would not have been me. So often I bite off more than I can possibly chew. Who wants simply when you can have beauty? I could not resist the peacock. Maybe because strutting looks so amazing when a peacock struts his tail feathers around for everyone to see.

I don’t think it was totally my fault I didn’t finish. I was happily talking. This during an art activity usually makes me crazy. I can’t talk and create at the same time. But tonight was fun and it didn’t matter if I finished or not. Talking or coloring it was so much fun!

I only knew Jeanne, the Librarian, but knowing one person was enough. She chatted, I chatted and then I chatted with the reporter who showed up to cover this amazing activity and wanted to know why I was there! I’m pretty sure she didn’t expect the answer I gave. It was a lot of fun to see the look on her face when I told her I was trying to do one new thing every day for a year. She usually covers sports so she was doing a new thing too!

If you haven’t tried coloring to relieve stress, you should. I felt a lot better when I left. I was only a little stressed when I got there after having been once again to the dentist. This time to replace a lost filling. I quit worrying about whether I’d have to see the dentist again sooner than I would like and colored and my heart smiled. OOOO and while I was there I got another donation to Polar Plunge from a good friend Di! Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.