I have to say I can’t believe it took me 6 years to accomplish this “bucket list” item. One thing or another or fear of going somewhere I’ve never been or god forbid going alone kept me from attending. Today I went to a Lunafest event, short films by, for, and about Women. A super event. Their mission is to celebrate and inspire women through the art of film and community fundraising. Lunafest was established in 2000 by LUNA the company that makes the Luna whole nutrition bar.. They set this event up to promote women filmmakers, raise awareness for women’s issues and support women’s nonprofits.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the things I found awesome about Lunafest is 100% of the net proceeds go to charity. Their main beneficiary is the Breast Cancer fund, but each city gets to choose their own charity for a major portion of their funds to go toward. Our town chose an organization called Mutual Ground which helps abused women.

For $20.00 I got to help two charities (every little bit helps) and view 6 fantastic short films of different subject matter. The first one made my eyes wet because it was about a deaf women dealing with a breast cancer diagnosis. While I did not have breast cancer nor am I deaf, I am an 11 year oral cancer survivor and I do know how tough it is to navigate through that process with ears to hear those words, you have cancer. A silently powerful film.

Our town had two screenings today, one at 3pm and one at 7pm. I am sad to say for a town of 30,000 plus there were only about 30 people at the 3pm screening and that was counting 2 men in attendance, yay to them for being brave. I know that we are all busy, sometimes because we need to be and sometimes because we want to be, but we need to take time for supporting each other.

I’m always trying to encourage my friends to do things with me. I like to share the experience. Sometimes someone will do things with me and sometimes I get ignored. I’m mostly okay with that. We all have different likes and dislikes. But today I was bummed I couldn’t get any of my friends interested in this, I had however, made up my mind I was going, even by myself.

The event was only a mile from my house, at the Village hall, and the weather, for February was beautiful and so I walked and took in the fresh air before sitting in a darkened room for 90 minutes of my life with complete strangers.

Before we went in for the screening, we had a choice of coffees, teas and desserts to choose from, which was included in the $20.00 ticket. I laced up my courage, which was shaking and asked a woman if I might sit at her table and enjoy my coffee and yes, dessert. Life is short and dessert is usually too good to pass up. I survived sitting with a stranger and yes we did chat a bit. It was nice to see I wasn’t the only woman brave enough to come alone.

I spent an extra $5.00 and bought some raffle tickets. More money inGE DIGITAL CAMERA the hands of charity and I’m all for that. I was even happier when I won one of the raffles. Yay Me! Yay Charity!

I’m glad I had the courage to finally go. Having a goal of doing one new thing every day for a year, helps to get this sort of thing accomplished. A bit of panic sets in when trying to figure out 366 new things to try.

The films, while short, had a powerful punch to the gut and made me think outside my own little comfort zone. Kudos to the women who made these films, kudos to the actors and the those truly in the journey, for making us see beyond our own little world.

Oh and the last GE DIGITAL CAMERAawesome thing about the day? I had the chance to gaze upon a beautiful sunset walking the mile back home!

Go do something new and ladies support your fellow sisters. We need all the help we can get sometimes.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

One response

  1. Pam says:

    good for you!