Tonight after 32 years of marriage, for the first time ever, I did something for my hubster that I have NEVER done before! Boy was he happy! He’s always had to get this elsewhere, because I wouldn’t do it for him. Tonight I made meat loaf!

When my mother was alive, she and my Dad used to take us out to eat quite a bit and the hubster would, 9 times out of 10, order the meatloaf. My mother and I used to make fun of him for ordering meatloaf in a restaurant. I just didn’t get the whole meatloaf thing. He said his mom used to make it and he loved it.

The last time my mother in law came for a visit at Christmas she gave me a break from the cooking and made her meatloaf. It was the first time I had ever had it. Oh my, I was sorry I had never had her meatloaf! I am not a huge fan of beef, more so after radiation treatments. Certain foods take longer for me to chew and eat now, meat can be difficult as are raw vegetables. My throat is damaged and has shrunk due to the radiation treatments of 11 + years ago, even after having had my throat stretched several times, it still takes me longer to eat than the normal person.

My mother in law’s recipe for meatloaf is not only yummy good, it is also easier for me to eat and now that she has shared her recipe with me I will make it again and again. So there you have it. My husband was smiling when he got his first ever meatloaf from his loving wife.

I’m glad my mother in law is a good part of my life. We have always gotten along and she has been my second mother. I am blessed to have her in my life and I will always be grateful for the day she made me a lover of meatloaf. Go do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

One response