First time I’ve gone to the library for a loud concert! The 13 year old wasn’t terribly happy to be there. He didn’t think he would like it and since before hand I wasn’t sure I was going to like it and had thought about not going, well, I couldn’t tell him he would enjoy it. We sat in the back row and both of us were pleasantly surprised, it was good and it was LOUD!

We were not allowed to take pictures or videos during the performance, so I’ve put a link here from Youtube. Tom performed this song for us this afternoon, I believe it was my favorite, maybe because the title of the song was “Dancing on the bones”. As a cancer surThriver, I got thing about bones, especially the Jolly Roger sort. I am a pirate, a thief of time. I still stand, where my loves have fallen.

I’m not sure how anyone can listen to music and not feel it, not move to it. Several times I just closed my eyes and let there be just me and the music. I had to close my eyes to think only of the music because everyone was in front of me. I was in the back row. I could see the backs of everyone’s heads and they were all so very still. No one was tapping a foot except me and the 13 year old. No one was moving ever so slightly to the beat except for me. No one was bee bopping their head, but me! I don’t believe they were not affected by the beauty of the sound, but we have all become so afraid of making people notice us. We are so afraid people will make fun of us, and so we sit so very still when we should be swaying to the beat and letting the music wash over us. Go do something new! Feel the music within your soul.

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

2 responses

  1. atiredheart says:

    You are such an inspiration!