Once again no video for today. Way too dark! Today marks the earliest I have gotten my one new thing a day completed! Up and out the door at 5:15am this morning, dressed in my nightgown, slippers and long winter coat. Weather.com says its 30 degrees, but feels like 20 degrees and I’m heading out the door with bare legs to look at the predawn sky. I’ve been doing this every morning for the last four days to see if I can see the 5 planets lined up and visible to the naked eye. This morning was the morning! No clouds! Brilliant star and planet filled sky! You haven’t been able to see these planets, like this since 2005. I didn’t have a clue about that back then and I’ve no idea when they will line up again. Life is unpredictable. We don’t know what tomorrow brings, so yes go outside in your jammies, in the cold, and look at the sky.

I love looking to the heavens. It brings me such comfort, peace and as my friend Bruce says, awe and wonder. I wonder if he and Penny have gone out to see this. Considering he loves astronomy he’s probably seen it a few times. After my initial WOW when I saw the sky I thought of Bruce and Penny. I saw them last night, briefly and said goodbye the only way I know how, “see you later”. Their lives are in the middle of a move. I will miss them. Its a stressful time trying to pack up an entire home and move it all to another state. My sweet friend Penny kept apologizing for the mess. I told her my house looks like that all the time and I’m not moving. She didn’t believe me, she should have. I have a 13 year old son living here.

The movers arrive on Friday and I’m hoping they find some time to rest a bit, but its doubtful. Before I left I offered to do a midnight ice cream run. I doubt they truly understand how sincere I was about doing that. They’ve been in my life for nine years and this move will put them about 11 driving hours away from me. So we will have a new relationship and once again this reminds me how much I love Facebook and being able to stay in touch with so many friends and family across the world. I know that Bruce and Penny are so incredibly busy packing up life they won’t see this message of love for some time. My prayer is they know they have touched my life and every time I look to the heavens and gaze at the wonder of the star filled sky I do think of them and so many others who have touched my life, yet no longer stand next to me. The first time I saw a planet with a telescope, it was because of Bruce. The sky is amazing, go do something new!

http://earthsky.org/science-wire/when-will-all-five-visible-planets-appear-simultaneously

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.