It ain’t all fun and games. Some times doing something new, is something you wish you didn’t have to do, but feel you must do.

Maybe this video seems to be a bit boring to you. Its just me calling my baby brother on the phone. I called to remind him of his Doctor’s appointment. I took advantage of the “hello” to see how many of my newly memorized hello’s in another language I could say before I made him crazy. Its good to laugh.

That’s a new thing for me, calling a loved one to make sure they remember a Doctor’s appointment. I’ve never felt it necessary to call and remind my brother of an upcoming appointment. However, my brother has C.L.L., Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. He was diagnosed almost a year ago. Currently the doctor is just watching. The object is to hold off treatment as long as possible. Once they start treatment it will be ongoing. So they play a waiting game as long as they can. Maybe that sounds scary, but in this case with C.L.L. it is the right call, for now.

I thought my brother had forgotten his last appointment and I wanted to make sure he didn’t forget this one. Turns out I had misunderstood what he had told me before. He remembered on his own. But this is what big sisters are for. Watching out for their baby brothers, even when they haven’t been a baby for many years.

Illnesses are nothing we should take lightly. I learned that with my Tonsil cancer diagnosis over 11 years ago. I learned that the hard way when my mother was diagnosed just a few weeks before me with her own cancer. She put off going to the Doctor, for a bit, even though she ran a fever off an on and had stomach area pain. She was diagnosed with cancer of the Ampulla Vader. It happens to be right by the pancreas. I didn’t put off going to the doctor, but still was Stage IV by the time I noticed anything out of the ordinary, swollen lump in my neck, my tonsil cancer had spread to the lymph nodes, before I knew anything was out of the ordinary.

If you care about your family and friends you will be their advocate when they need it and when they don’t think they need it. Make them go and see a doctor, when they say, ‘let me wait”. Tell them to get a new doctor when the doctor tells them its nothing bad. If I listened to the first doctor, I might not be writing these words. Know your body. If something doesn’t seem right, see a Doctor. If the Doctor tells you, its nothing, but you still don’t feel right, don’t let it go. Find another Doctor. Take care of yourself. Be your own advocate! You only get one chance at this life. Go do something new, and I hope its fun and not scary stuff.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.