Today I really stepped out of my comfort zone and headed over to the Senior Center here in town. I attended a Laughter Yoga class, which was new to me. I had never heard of it till I read about the free class at the Senior center. I thought maybe I was a bit too young and they might not let me in the door, but no worries, I’m old.

I didn’t have a problem trying something new, my problem or nervousness came from being in a room of people I knew I wouldn’t know. I went by myself with no one holding my hand. I was the first one there, besides the instructor. It was a good way to ease myself into this situation. I got to learn a little bit about the instructor and why she leads these classes. It ended up there were only 7 of us, 8 including our instructor, who, by the time everyone else arrived had put on a red cowboy hat with 2 big flowers attached to it. She also had donned a pair of sparkly glasses. I had a little trouble looking her in the eye. Her shoes each held a big flower, her pants were rolled up to show a lovely pair of colorful socks. Our instructor presented us with red noses. I put mine under my chair, some people wore theirs on their noses and some, well, some where theirs in other places.

I was surprised to see two men come along with their wives. One gentleman had more fun than all of us together. By the end of the hour I laughed more at him, than I did with the actual exercises. We all were given foam cowboy hats to wear throughout the class and at the end when this one jovial man took his hat off, he had sweated so much there was a reddish band left all the way around his bald head. We all laughed for real, instead of the hee, hee, ho, ho, ha, ha requested of us in class!

Laughter is great. I love to laugh and I love to make others laugh. It is good medicine. I’m glad I went. I didn’t get much exercise out of a class with the word Yoga in it, but I did exercise my heart and spent an enjoyable laughter filled hour with a bunch of strangers. I couldn’t have imagined that possible before I got out of my car to go in. I’m glad I hat the guts to walk in the building. When I got home I finally put my red nose on. To tell you the truth I feel errr sound like Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer and that makes me laugh. Go laugh and do something new!

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.