The other night the 13 year old and I watched the movie “The Walk” with Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It was based on the real life man who walked a tight rope between the Twin Towers back in the 70’s. I spent a lot of the movie feeling anxious, most especially the first time he went up to check it out and he stood on the end of a girder, I had to look away. This was a movie mind you, me watching someone else, but I had that same feeling watching my son, mother in law and cousin Lisa standing by a railing at Rock City looking out over a huge drop. A few years ago as I stood by a railing at the top of a lighthouse I hung on to the railing for dear life as I envisioned myself tumbling over the rail. Although I was fine standing at the top of the light house in Key West (higher railing). I bring all this up because at some point this year I plan to try ziplining. A few years ago I did a little zipline down Main Street of my home town. It wasn’t terribly tall or very long yet as I stood waiting to go I kept thinking about taking that first step off and knowing that if the cable snapped I’d hit hard metal below me and if I didn’t die I would be seriously hurt. But I took that step of faith. With all of that being said I have to wonder if I will be brave and take that step on a real honest to goodness zipline. I’m afraid, but this is something I have wanted to do for a very long time, since I bought my kids a zipline experience one year for Christmas. Funny isn’t it? I wanted to do it, but bought them the experience instead of myself. I knew they would love it, and believed they would not be as afraid as I was to take that step. I need to remind myself that its okay to be afraid, but having the courage to take that step keeps us in charge of our fears, and keeps fear from crippling us. Go do something new.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

2 responses

  1. atiredheart says:

    Oh Honey, go! Do it! Say your prayers, be ready for anything, and know the odds of not surviving are slim. Just remember when you get ready to step off the platform and go – don’t think about your fears. Imagine yourself as a bird in flight or an angel enjoying a special trip. Look around you, soak it up! Maybe even buy yourself a Go Pro camera to help you remember the experience. Go for all of us that want to but can’t because of our handicaps. Be sure to write about it!

  2. jlturtlerunner says:

    Thank you for your encouragement! I recently bought myself a Go Pro with some money that was given to me. I have only used it twice. This will be a good time to use it! I’m excited for warm weather. As a runner when I hit a tough spot I always think of those who can not do it or my friends and family that are no longer here. It gets me through it, so yes that first step that day will be for a Tired Heart and all the others, it will be what gets me to take that step.