Yesterday for my one new thing I went outside in 8 degree weather that supposedly felt like -11. I say it was just freakin’ cold. I went out there to blow bubbles for my Freakin’ 365 + 1 list. A friend had suggested it, “Blow bubbles in freezing temps.” I assumed something amazing would happen with the bubbles. She hadn’t said it would do anything amazing, only to do it. Turns out her little girl, for whatever reason, loves to blow bubbles in the cold.

I wasn’t outside terribly long, long enough to get cold down to my fingertips, but the whole time I spent worrying about what the bubbles were supposed to be doing and they weren’t doing it. I kept worrying that maybe I wasn’t doing something right. Maybe I needed bigger bubbles. Mine were very tiny with a giveaway bottle from my older son’s wedding. Although the memory of the wedding and adding a new daughter to my family did make me smile. The bottle was shaped like a cowboy boot, cute. But like I said I spent my time just worrying I was doing something wrong. That it was somehow a failure and I made a speech not to be afraid of failure. I did not blow the bubbles wrong. Blowing bubbles in freezing temps was not a failure. What I did wrong was not to enjoy the moment. I wasn’t angry, I just kept thinking I wasn’t doing it right and I wasn’t. I needed stand still or dance and breathe in the cold and just blow bubbles with delight. The child in me got lost for a moment.

This list is supposed to be all about fun, I’m grateful I have been reminded of quickly of that on just day 10. I can only try to remember as the days progress onward to just have fun, live the moment. Thanks for the lesson Teagan!

 

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.