Something new I will be doing today, that is NOT on my list will be to use my new griddle for my stove. My Mom had (my Dad still has it) a griddle her father, my grandfather made for her. He worked at Federal Huber and that is where he made it. My Mom always used it to make French toast. I don’t recall her using it for anything else. After Mom died I took over making the French toast on that old griddle. My brother and I get together at Dad’s on Christmas Eve afternoon. The hubster makes fried pototoes, Dad usually makes the bacon and I make the french toast. There’s a lot of love in that old griddle. I don’t recall my mom being very much of a great cook, but I remember her mixing the eggs, milk and vanilla for the “batter”. One of her last Christmas Eve’s she happened to mention she always added a little sugar to the “batter”. She had never shared that with me before. My brother Aaron told me this year, he thought it was the best French toast he had ever had. I remembered this year to add a little sugar. I told him I would probably never again duplicate that recipe because it’s always been a little bit of this and a little bit of that, no measurement, not even the sugar.

A few months ago, the hubster bought me my own griddle. I stuck in the cabinet and forgot about it till last night. I realized someone had eaten the last of the cereal and I didn’t want to “run” to the store on New Year’s day. He said, you’ve got everything you need to make French toast on that new griddle. He was right, here’s to cooking on my own griddle and hopefully making memories for my last child home.

So today is a double new thing. One not on the list and one on the list. Later on tonight I’ll share what was on the list, just something fun and not full of memories.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.