Today I was signed up to run the Santa Hustle. I was to run for the American Cancer Society’s DetermiNation program. I had ribbons to attach to my shirt, ribbons in memory of loved ones lost. A ribbon for me and a ribbon for Allen as cancer survivors. Instead I’ll attend Allen’s funeral. I’m okay with missing a race. I’m not okay with Allen dying too young.

I had a goal to run one race a month for a year, Santa Hustle was my final race, my celebration run for that goal and finally running a race for the ACS because I started running to fight back against cancer, but then Allen died and my place is saying goodbye. I’m okay with missing that race. I found another race to run next Sunday.

Next Sunday I will put my DetermiNation shirt on and attach the ribbons. The ribbon for me the cancer survivor and the ribbons in memory of my loved ones gone, including Allen who died too young. I’ll run on the trails of Minooka, instead of the paved streets of Chicago. It isn’t a race that has the ACS as a Charity attached to it, but it helps out some horses. I’ve earned this shirt without running a single race, but every race I run I always, always carry with me the memories of those I have lost.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I would have run Santa Hustle with family and smiles and laughter, instead I will run the Reindeer run alone and in sadness, but I will hold my head high and run for all of us. I’ll be running for horses and not cancer with ribbons upon my shirt for loved ones who died too young.

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

One response

  1. Theresa Bagg says:

    Thank you Jerri Lynn for being there and remembering Allen. Yes, he died too young