Today I ran the Donut Dash 5K. Nothing better than running 3.1 miles knowing there is a Pumpkin donut waiting at the finish for me! I was anxious to see what my time would be having ran the last two Fridays at home, clocking a phenomenal 36 minutes one week and 42 minutes this last Friday. Excellent times FOR ME. Not so much for your average runner in my age group with times in the 20’s. But so what! I’m off my butt and running.

It was pretty chilly with the temp about 41 degrees and breezy at points. When the sun was shining through the clouds, it felt so good. I tried to keep my mind off the running and take in my surroundings of the Fairgrounds. It seems so strange to be inside the gates without the congestion of the fair.

I completed the first mile in 13:49 and I was impressed. Gasping for breath I had to ask again what the time was, because I couldn’t hear the spotter. I’m usually 14 minutes something or other. If they called my time at 2 miles I didn’t hear it, and at that point, I gave up caring. I was hauling for all I could to get through this. No one called the time at the finish and the clock was set for those doing the 10K all I could go by until they posted the times was my IPOD Nano, but I had it started before the start of the gun, so it was a guess. When they finally posted the times I had to squint to see my time, because I never wear my glasses when I run. I think they slow me down, that and my watch and my wedding ring. I saw my time was 40 minutes and something or other on the seconds. I can’t remember if I even looked at the seconds, when I saw the 40 I was smiling. Up until these last couple personal runs I had been consistently in the 45-46 minute 5K finish. Yay ME! I’ll take that number!

I have to be honest though and say I did get beat to the finish line by a four-year old. That’s right a FOUR year old and yes his legs were MUCH shorter than mine. I know he was four because afterwards I went over and asked. I should have left it alone, but I was pretty sure that was his age, but I guess I needed some salt rubbed in that wound. The woman who ran with him was a friend of his mothers who wanted to run the 10K and this woman asked me if I noticed how many times the little boy stopped running because he was having issues with his headphones. Thanks, thanks for that. I was running the ENTIRE time and the four-year old beat me to the finish, even as he stopped to drink water from the bottle she was carrying for him AND to fix his headphones.

I think it’s only fair to say he cheated at the water station by not running the complete turn around and shaving off a whole whopping .01 of the course and the spotter said nothing. I said to the spotter, we have to run that turn around don’t we? “Yes”, he said. The kid was too far ahead and had his headphones back on to hear me. I kept my big girl pants on and didn’t turn the four-year old in to the race director for shaving off 3 seconds. I was gracious and congratulated the little boy and told the adult, I was used to getting beat by the 60-70 year old walkers with long legs, now I get to add 4 year olds to the list of EVERYONE that beats me. Yep I don’t call myself the Turtle for nothing. Great job kid, but I came home with a 2nd place medal for my age group 50-54. I haven’t checked yet, but there may have only been two of us in that group.
GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.