Anyone who knows me well should know I’m out to enjoy my life as much as I possibly can. That means, when the mood strikes I do what I want. Even if it means playing in the kid’s area of the Pumpkin farm with my 11 year old son. The good news is he is generally not embarrassed to play with me. The bad news is, one of his classmates happened to be out at the Pumpkin farm as well that day. GE DIGITAL CAMERA
The classmate, a young girl saw us from a distance and did not come over to greet my son, but Monday morning at school, told my son she had seen him and wanted to know if I was his girlfriend. HIS GIRLFRIEND? My son told me this after school that day. I thought, was she not wearing her glasses? Could she not see my wrinkled face? I asked my son, “Why would she say that?” He just smiled and said, “You know cause you’re so short”, (my son is just about 2 inches shorter than me and I’m just 5 foot) He told her I was his Mom.” I don’t know what else they said to each other and I don’t think I want to know. While my son and I were out there playing on the pirate boat and taking pictures pretending to be sitting in the little kid peddle cars he said to me, “we’re acting like kids”. I said, “Well you ARE a kid and I can do what I want.” I’m not sure what’s worse now, being called his Grandma (which I have been called) because they are standing close enough to see my wrinkles or now being asked if I’m his girlfriend, because I’m THAT short! Yikes. GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Why do grownups stop having fun? Why do we stop playing with abandon? Why do we worry about what someone will think of us? Life is short; I know this all too well. So whatever! I’m still playing and I don’t care, who people think I am.
I have to take my moments when they come. I don’t have a lot of money; I work a part time job, so I have more time for my family and for me. I usually have to spend about a third of my paycheck for gas back and forth to that job, to 5K races, to Church and whatever meeting I need to attend for whatever I happen to be involved in. By the time payday rolls around I usually am squeaking by with $20 or so dollars in my pocket. I’ll admit it; I can get a little jealous when someone tells me about their vacation plans.
Right now I’m trying to set aside $60 every two weeks, $50 for me and $10 for my 11 year old so we can take a mini vacation next May. I’ve wanted to do this for a couple years now. There is a 5K race in Peabody, Massachusetts on Mother’s Day. The race is organized by a woman whose brother died after battling Oral cancer. That is what has moved my heart to consider driving 1035 miles to run a race I may very well come in last place. I am a 9 year Warrior of Oral cancer. My mother died 2 years ago after living her life as fully as she could with a cancer diagnosis. So what better way to spend Mother’s day, doing what I want to do, run a race.
Running this race had only been a lofty dream for over a year, but then I made mention of it one day when my Mother in Law was here visiting from her home in Las Vegas. She said pretty matter of fact, “I’ll go with you”. Wait! What? Poof! There it was! My dream, now a reality!
If you haven’t heard me mention before, I love my mother in law, Carolyn. I liked her the first time I met her, I’ve loved her for 30 years. What this also means is, I can spend that much time in a car with the woman and like it.
So that’s the plan, driving to Peabody by way of Niagara Falls, (because I’ve never been there and if I’m that close how can I NOT go see the Falls!) to run a 5K race WITH my 11 year old, because I won’t let him miss this opportunity just because he’s supposed to be in school, with my Mother in law there to cheer us at the Finish line, even if one of us, comes in last, on Mother’s Day 2014 and I’ll be thinking of my Mom and thanking God I’ve made it this far, just to live my life fully as I can, doing what I want, running even if it’s slow as the turtle I am, having fun, and playing like a kid. It’s my life. I’m blessed to be alive and I’m going to do what I want regardless of who people think I am. GE DIGITAL CAMERA

About jlturtlerunner

12 plus Years Surviving Stage IV Oral Cancer. I have become a "Turtle" runner since that diagnosis, as a way of saying, "Take That Sucker!" After 12 years of being a Turtle Runner, I'm adding a new title, Turtle Rucker!

Comments are closed.